Early Years

We follow the new Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which was implemented in September 2012. This caters for learning and development from birth to five, ensuring seamless transitions from pre-school.

The EYFS is an exciting and interactive curriculum which is based on learning through indoor and outdoor play.

The EYFS is made up of:

Three Prime Areas of Learning and Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Physical Development.
  • Communication and Language.

Four Specific Areas of Learning and Development:

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

These areas are underpinned by the Characteristics of Effective Learning; the ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment. These are:

  • Playing and exploring.
  • Active Learning.
  • Creating and thinking critically

Learning to link letters to sounds in literacy..
Exploring different textures in art and design..

Learning to recognise and order numbers in maths..
Retelling stories..

Grouping objects and counting how many..
Learning to write our names.